Featured News

Secretary DeVos Announces All Spring State ESSA Plan Submissions Complete, Ready for Peer Review

May 12, 2017 - Today, U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos announced that all state plans submitted for the spring deadline by 16 states and the District of Columbia under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) were found to be complete and ready for peer review.

"Today's announcement is a big win for ESSA implementation. I am committed to returning decision-making power back to states and setting the Department up to serve the support and monitoring roles intended by Congress," said Secretary DeVos. "The Department worked with states to ensure their plans included all statutorily required components laid out in the Department's revised template. I commend officials from these states for their efforts to ensure their plans were ready for the peer-review process, and for their continued work to improve education for all students."

The state plans will now proceed to the staff and peer review process, through which experts and stakeholders will examine them to ensure they comply with the standards established in ESSA.

The District of Columbia and the 16 states below submitted their plans by the spring deadline:
• Arizona
• Colorado
• Connecticut
• Delaware
• Illinois
• Louisiana
• Massachusetts
• Maine
• Michigan
• North Dakota
• New Jersey
• New Mexico
• Nevada
• Oregon
• Tennessee
• Vermont

Contact: Press Office, (202) 401-1576, press@ed.gov